FAQs

FAQs for California Course

While DMV recommends users to spend about 6 hours on a traffic course. our online course curriculum is self-paced. Without timers, it largely depends on how quickly YOU can go through the material.
Our online traffic school is licensed in ALL counties in California. It has been licensed by the California DMV under license number E0538. Please check our license here

In California, when a driver is issued a moving violation they must pay their court the violation fine amount plus a state mandated Traffic School Admin fee and request traffic school as an option with the court. Once the driver completes that step, they then can then enroll in a Licensed California Traffic Violators Course (TVS).

With Urban Traffic School, once you successfully complete the course and pass the final exam your TVS completion is electronically submitted through a secure DMV system to the Court. When the court receives the TVS completion and if all fine/fees owed to the court have been paid and traffic school was elected/approved by the court, the court will “dismiss” the case. Once the court dismisses the case that will trigger a notification to the DMV to mask and suppress the moving violation as a “confidential conviction” as long as it meets the criteria for masking on the driving record per 1808.7 of the California Vehicle Code.

California Vehicle Code 1808.7 states:
(a) The record of the department relating to the first proceeding and conviction under Section 1803.5 in any 18-month period for completion of a traffic violator school program is confidential, shall not be disclosed to any person, except a court and as provided for in subdivision (b), and shall be used only for statistical purposes by the department. No violation point count shall be assessed pursuant to Section 12810 if the conviction is confidential.
(b) The record of a conviction described in subdivision (a) shall not be confidential if any of the following circumstances applies:
(1) The person convicted holds a commercial driver’s license as defined by Section 15210.
(2) The person convicted holds a commercial driver’s license in another state, in accordance with Part 383 of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations.
(3) The violation occurred in a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in subdivision (b) of Section 15210.
(4) The conviction would result in a violation point count of more than one point pursuant to Section 12810.
(c) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2011.

Yes! As a matter of fact, over 70% of our students finish our course on the same day. It’s made to be easy, fun and simple for you.
No, we save your progress each time you complete a quiz so you can login anytime and begin where you left off.
Urban Traffic School course has five chapters. At the end of each chapter there are 3 question quizzes, which will prepare you for the final exam.
Our final exam is 25 general knowledge questions. Questions range from common practice of driving a motor vehicle to rules of the road.
DMV allows us to give you a second final exam for free. They are not the same questions, but very similar to first exam. If you fail even the second time, we also provide a free course re-takes with our premium and deluxe packages.
You must complete all 5 chapters of the course, pass the 5 chapter quizzes and pass the final exam in order to receive a Certificate of Completion. Urban Traffic School will issue a Certificate of Completion within 24-48 hours if participants meet and complete all the requirements for the course.
Yes. When we designed our website, we made sure it works on smart phones, tablets and computers alike.
There are several hundred traffic schools in the State of California. List of traffic schools provided to you differ from time to time. Each month most of the county courts revise this list and unfortunately it is always ordered randomly. One of the best way to locate our license information is by visiting our license page. Urban Traffic School should be listed in the list of "approved" traffic school provider in any paperwork that was given to you as long as it is a Superior Court of California. Please check us also via our license number E0538 or phone number 408-634-3232
From time to time, users are given coupon codes to enter into our system when you are making online payment. If your coupon code does not work, please contact our live chat and they'd be happy to help you.
The court may approve traffic school for a driver with a commercial driver’s license if the eligible offense occurred in a noncommercial vehicle. After completion of an approved program by a driver with a commercial driver’s license, a conviction will appear on the driving record at the DMV, but a point will not appear for the offense.
Commercial Drivers must complete form DL207 - Driver License Record Correction Request - (Traffic Violations/Convictions Only) to have their driver's license corrected. For additional information contact the Mandatory Actions Unit at (916) 657-6525.

FAQs for Nevada Course

If you have accumulated at least 3 to 11 demerit points on your Nevada DMV driving record, you may have 3 demerit points removed from your driving record by successfully completing an approved Nevada Traffic Safety Course.
You can also take course as part of a plea bargain agreement with a court of law, or voluntarily to reduce the number of points on their driving record.
Yes! Our Course (Nevada DMV License # TSS000045113) has met all the Nevada DMV requirements to offer an approved Nevada Traffic Safety School Course. We are also accepted by all District Courts, Justice Courts, and Municipal Courts in the State of Nevada
The Nevada DMV requires users to spend a minimum of 5 hours on the course and pass the final exam in order to obtain course credit.

We offer three different packages: $10, $19.95 and $29.95

  • The $10 course is for insurance reduction purposes only. There is no reporting to the NV DMV or the Courts. Select this course if you are interested in obtaining possible insurance premium discounts with your insurance provider. Please note, we cannot guarantee that your insurance provider will offer an insurance premium discount for completing the course. We strongly advise you to check with your insurance provider BEFORE signing up for our insurance course.
  • Our $19.95 and $29.95 courses are for NV DMV and NV Court requirements and demerit point reduction on driving records.

We include all of the following in our super-low price of just $19.95:

  • Unlimited access to our Internet-based course
  • Course that meets DMV or Court Requirement for 5hr Course
  • Documentation is Included (sending Notary docs)
  • Unlimited Final Exam Attempts Included
  • Sameday electronic Certificate of Completion
  • Instant Exam Grades
  • Nevada DMV Reporting Included
  • Proof of Purchase Included
  • Certificate for Court Reporting
  • Unlimited access to our Internet-based course
  • Course that meets DMV or Court Requirement for 5hr Course
  • Documentation is Included (sending Notary docs)
  • Unlimited Final Exam Attempts Included
  • Sameday electronic Certificate of Completion
  • Instant Exam Grades
  • Nevada DMV Reporting Included
  • Proof of Purchase Included
  • USPS Mailed Certificate for Court Reporting
  • SMS Text Message when reported to NV DMV
Yes! As a matter of fact, over 70% of our students finish our course on the same day. It’s made to be easy, fun and simple for you.
No, we save your progress each time you complete a quiz so you can login anytime and begin where you left off
If you are taking the course for DMV and or Court purposes, upon completing the course, you will receive an email from us containing a General Affidavit Form. Per the NV DMV regulations, you will need to sign and have the form notarized. Once your signature is notarized, you can scan the document and email it back to us, or drop it off during business hours at our Las Vegas office. Once we have your completed notarized affidavit form, we will then process your course completion results to the NV DMV.
Upon completing the course successfully, you will receive an e-certificate of completion and depending upon the package you selected, a USPS mailed official certificate of completion for the court. Once you receive that USPS certificate, it is up to the student to follow and comply with any court reporting instructions issued to them by the court. It is the student’s responsibility resolve the matter with the court. Urban Traffic School does not send certificate of completions to the court directly or electronically in Nevada.
Your certificate will be delivered to the address you listed when registering for the course.
You can add on expedited USPS during the enrollment process by selecting the expedited shipping add-on the payment page (before completing the payment process).
Yes. When we designed our website, we made sure it works on smart phones, tablets and computers alike.
Urban Traffic School’s 5 Hour Nevada Course has five chapters. At the end of each chapter there are 10 question quizzes, which must be passed with 70% or higher in order to move on to the next chapter.
Our NV final exam is a 40–question multiple choice, true/false final exam after completing all 5 course chapters. You must score 80% or higher on the final exam to pass the exam and to receive course completion.
You must complete all 5 chapters of the course, pass the 5 chapter quizzes and pass the final exam in order to receive a Certificate of Completion. Each individual chapter must be completed before moving on to another chapter and the student must spend a minimum of 5 hours on the course. Urban Traffic School will issue a Certificate of Completion only if participants meet and complete all the requirements for the course.

FAQs for Virginia Course

Points on a driving record can be costly! Your vehicle insurance premiums may skyrocket for two years due to demerit points assessed on your driving record. The Commonwealth of Virginia utilizes a demerit point system to rate drivers. You will receive demerit points for traffic violations you are cited and convicted of. In Virginia, those demerit points stay on your driving record for two years from the date of the violation. The number of demerit points assigned can vary based on the type of driving violation
Taking an authorized and licensed online, computer based Driver Improvement Clinic Program such as the one we offer can help prevent your insurance premiums from being raised.
Yes! Our Course (Virginia license # 5152) has met all the Commonwealth of Virginia DMV requirements to offer an approved online Driver Improvement Clinic in Virginia.
Review your Virginia Uniform Summons copy carefully (the ticket that the officer issued to you) for information on appearance, traffic school options and or paying via mail or internet. If you are uncertain on the information listed or do not understand the summons, call the phone number listed on the summons for additional information.

The Commonwealth requires students to spend a minimum of 8 hours on the course and pass the final exam in order to obtain course credit. Our Driver Improvement Clinic Program is a timed 8 hour course per the DMV regulations, as are all online Driver Improvement Clinic Programs in Virginia are. This means, you have to spend a minimum of 8 hours overall in the course. You cannot skip ahead.

Unfortunately, per Commonwealth of Virginia DMV regulations, Virginia drivers under 20 years old must enroll and attend a classroom instruction Driver Improvement Clinic Program, not a computer based clinic.

If DMV requires you to attend a clinic, you must complete the entire eight-hour course. If you fail to satisfactorily complete the clinic within 90 days, your driving privilege will be suspended until you meet this requirement. If you are attending college outside of Virginia or you are a member of the military or a military dependent and stationed outside of Virginia, you may be eligible for an extension of the 90-day requirement. Contact the DMV for additional information on extensions and or to request one.

The Virginia DMV uses a point system to rate drivers. You receive demerit points for unsafe driving and safe driving points for good driving. Demerit points are assigned when you are convicted of a traffic violation, and remain valid for two years from the date you commit the offense. Each time you commit a traffic offense, DMV adds additional demerit points to your record. Too many points and you may see your vehicle insurance premiums increase significantly, and or have your driving privileges suspended and or revoked.
Safe driving points are assigned for each full calendar year that you hold a valid Virginia driver’s license and drive without any violations or suspensions. In some cases, you may also earn safe driving points by completing a driver improvement clinic. Per the Commonwealth of Virginia DMV regulations, you may be awarded 5 safe driving points, once every 24 months, after you successfully completing a driver improvement clinic.
Accrued safe points will offset points assessed on your dmv record if you have any. The highest safe driving point balance you may accumulate on your driving record is 5 points. If a court requires you to complete a clinic, the court determines if you will be awarded safe driving points.
The Driver Improvement Clinic Course can be taken once every 2 years (24 months) to get safe driving points added to your driving record in Virginia. For ticket dismissal, court requirement and or fine or fee reduction, there is no restriction on how many times you may take the course. However, it is the driver’s responsibility to insure with their court if the court will accept an online, computer based Driver Improvement Clinic prior to enrolling in the course.
Per the Commonwealth of Virginia DMV regulations, all final exams even for computer-based Driver Improvement Clinic Programs must take place at an approved, proctored location. Once you are ready to take the final exam, you will be required to go to a nearby testing facility during their proctored hours and complete the online exam there. You are required to bring a valid driver’s license and present it for verification to the proctor prior to being permitted to take the exam. There are no exceptions to this at all.
Once you successfully finished and passed the final exam you will receive an email confirmation of passing the driver improvement course. Your hard copy certificate will be mailed to you via standard USPS and may arrive in 7-10 business days after passing the final exam. It is your responsibility to insure you allow enough time to complete the course, pass the final exam at an approved location and allow for certificate mailing to reach you before your court due date.
If you live in another state and you get a moving violation in Virginia, you may be able to take a Virginia DMV licensed and approved online traffic school course to prevent points from being reported to your home state DMV, which will end up on your DMV record. To prevent points from being assessed, follow the instructions on your Virginia Uniform Summons copy (the citation/ticket the officer issued you) carefully regarding payments and traffic school options, and or contact the locality courthouse for additional information. Even if approved to take an online traffic school course, you will still be required by Virginia DMV regulations to take and complete the traffic school final exam at an approved testing location within the Commonwealth of Virginia state lines.
If the summons you received indicates that the offense is “pre-payable,” you may follow the instructions with the summons to pay your ticket without going to court. In addition, some general district courts accept of payments for traffic tickets via the Internet. Please Note: Most courts enter traffic ticket information into their system within 10 business days. If you do not see your traffic ticket information online after 10 days, contact the court in the locality of where your case is pending for further information or call the phone number listed on your summons/ticket.
Generally, if the court where your case is pending does not accept prepayments online, the offense with which you are charged is not “pre-payable,” or if the local court has not entered information about your case into the state database, contact the court in the locality of where your case is pending for further information.
To search for your case information, please visit http://www.courts.state.va.us/caseinfo/tickets.html and follow the instructions provided by the court regarding accessing case information online.
Per court information, generally, payments made before 3:30pm will be updated in the court system on the following business day, or within two (2) business days if the payment was made on a Friday and or falls on a court holiday. You can check the Virginia Courts Case Information system online to verify the status if that court is listed in the drop down menu (http://ewsocis1.courts.state.va.us/CJISWeb/circuit.jsp) . If the “Paid Status” does not show that your case has been paid, the payment was not processed before 3:30pm the previous day. You may call the court to confirm receipt of payment. Each day the court receives a listing of all payments that were processed (if payment after 3:30PM Friday this listing will not be available until Tuesday).
Our VA final exam is a State Mandated 50–question multiple choice, true/false final exam after completing all course chapters. You must score 80% or higher on the final exam to pass the exam and to receive course completion. Due to State regulations if you fail the final exam, you will need to wait for another day before taking the final exam again.

FAQs for Missouri Driver Improvement Program

Points on a driving record can be costly! Your vehicle insurance premiums may skyrocket for three years due to points assessed on your driving record. Taking a authorized and licensed online Driver Improvement Program (DIP) Course such as the one we offer can help prevent your insurance from being raised.

Yes! Our Course (Missouri license # OL007) has met all the Missouri DMV requirements to offer an approved online DIP in Missouri.
All moving violation citations in Missouri are submitted first to the Fine Collection Center (FCC), from there, Missouri has different processes for point reduction depending on which county the driver resides in. Some Missouri counties have been granted and authorized for automatic approval by the Missouri Fine Collection Center (FCC). In those counties, drivers with citations are automatically approved for Driver Improvement Program (DIP) to dismiss moving violation points from being assessed on their driving record upon successful completion of a certified DIP course.

Other counties in Missouri require the FCC to process your citation to the court directly. In those counties, the driver will be required to appear in person at the courthouse to request the court’s permission to attend a DIP course for point reduction.

The name of the county where you received your ticket is found on the top of your citation in the first block. You have 30 Days to respond to the FCC.

Fine Collections Center citations will have "FCC" written in the "court" block and "due in 30 days" or similar language in the "court date" block. "FCC" is usually in the "street address" block, and the "court phone number" reads (877) 866-3926, the FCC's toll free customer service number. Additionally, each person receiving a FCC ticket will receive it in an envelope pre-addressed to the Fine Collection Center at P.O. Box 104540, Jefferson City, MO 65110-4540.

Counties that allow FCC to approve Driver Improvement Program (DIP) are:

Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Audrain, Barton, Bollinger, Boone, Buchanan, Butler, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Dade, Daviess, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Grundy, Harrison, Hickory, Holt, Howell, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Livingston, Macon, Madison, Marion, McDonald, Miller, Nodaway, Oregon, Osage, Pemiscot, Perry, Pike, Platte, Putnam, Reynolds, Ripley, Saline, Schuyler, Scott, Shannon, Shelby, St. Clair, Ste. Genevieve, Sullivan, Vernon, Wayne, Webster, Worth, Wright.

If the county in which you received your moving violation citation is not listed above and you want to attend the Driver Improvement Program (DIP) , you must first plead not guilty to the Fine Collection Center. FCC will then send your citation to the prosecuting attorney in the county where the citation was issued. After the prosecutor files the citation with the court, the court will notify you of a court date. If you plead guilty at the court, the court has the authority to allow you to attend DIP to avoid point assessment. However, this decision is made by the court on a case by case basis and there is no guarantee that the court will allow you to attend DIP to avoid points on your driver’s license. You should check with the court in the county where the ticket was issued to learn about local policies concerning DIP.

You have to complete your driver improvement course within 60 days of approval from the FCC.

Additional information on FCC counties and point reduction can also be found at http://www.courts.mo.gov/page.jsp?id=1940

The Missouri Safety Center requires students to spend a minimum of 8 hours on the course and pass the final exam in order to obtain course credit.

Per Missouri State law, No person may attend the Driver Improvement Program (DIP) to avoid point assessment more than one time in any 36 month period.

Once you successfully finish and pass our DIP course, you will be sent a certificate of course completion via email or mail (the option you selected at enrollment). It is the student responsibility to send the course completion certificate to the FCC within the 60 day window. Urban Traffic School does not send completion certificates directly to the FCC.

Urban Traffic School will submit via USPS mail within 5 days of the student completing the DIP, a copy of the course completion certificate to the Missouri Department of Revenue Driver License Bureau P.O. Box 200 Jefferson City, MO 65105. Please note – This step does not replace the student’s responsibility to insure that the FCC still gets their completion certificate within their 60 day window.

FAQs for Texas Defensive Driving Course

Due to Texas Regulations, lowest price we can charge is $25. In your $25 fee following amenities are included.

  • Texas State Approved Driver Safety Course
  • Unlimited Retakes of the Course until you pass.
  • USPS First Class Regular Certificate Shipping
  • Same Day Passing Confirmation
  • SMS Notification Upon Course Completion
  • Texas DMV Reporting Included
  • Proof of Purchase
  • Additional Certificate Copy for Auto Insurance Reduction

What makes us the right choice for you? Our course is easy, effective and works on all devices. We offer the lowest price guaranteed! If for any reason, you do not like our course, you can request for a refund before taking the final exam. We guarantee you the 100% of the refund, without any questions asked.

Ready to Begin?